Organising Group

The Annual Schools Science Conference is organised by

The 12th event, Science for Survival, is produced in collaboration with University of Westminster.

The event’s main objectives are to:

  • Inspire students to study science
  • Demonstrate the importance of science in health and everyday life
  • Showcase some of the myriad careers open to those who study science.

The conference is exclusively presented by experienced professionals in the fields of science and healthcare, and attracts around 350 students from London secondary schools and further education colleges (years 9-11) along with their teachers. 

The backbone of the conference is made up of 80-100 enthusiastic volunteer scientists from various sectors, including NHS, academia, public sectors, industry, and commerce, who provide engaging hands-on displays.

The 2015 organising group comprised:

  • Don Henderson (Founder & Co-Chair)
  • Kimberly Gilmour (Chair)
    Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust
  • Sue Alexander (Secretary)
    The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust
  • Manfred Almeida (Treasurer)
    Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Sarah Armstrong
    The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust
  • Mike Carter
    Public Health England
  • Jamie Harris
    British Society for Immunology
  • Lucie Houghton
    The Royal College of Pathologists
  • Patrick Lees
    University of Westminster
  • Ayuen Lual
    Public Health England
  • Rebecca Macrae
    University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Maria Rossini
    British Science Association
  • Sharon Gage (Event Organiser)
    SRG Project Management

Science for Survival

The 12th Annual Schools Science Conference took place on 22nd April 2015

University of Westminster

115 New Cavendish Street